Winner of 2019 General Election in Nigeria | Muhammadu Buhari

After several days of collation of results in different states by the Independent National Electoral Commission, incumbent president, General Muhammadu Buhari of the All Progressives Congress was declared winner of the 2019 General Elections. His victory, however, was not without it’s fair share of controversy. Firstly, there were widespread allegations of corruption and election rigging, as many individuals sighted two bullion vans loaded with cash entering the residence of APC party chieftain, Chief Bola Ahmed Tinubu. It was gathered that the funds were to be used in buying over people’s votes and to hire hoodlums to prevent people from voting for other candidates. Furthermore, there were also instances of voter harassment, especially in parts of Lagos and Rivers states, where innocent voters were being violently pressured into voting for the APC at all cost.

Following the developments, the PDP issued a statement to denounce the results of the election, stating that it was not devoid of express foul play and electoral malpractice, especially on the part of the ruling party. It voiced it’s concern at the perceived incompetence of the INEC chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, who issued an earlier directive to postpone the elections a few hours to it’s commencement on the previously scheduled date.

However, irrespective of the concerns by the PDP and all the other parties, General Buhari has now been elected for a second term in office. The declaration was made by the INEC Chair around midnight when collation of votes across the 36 states of the federation and the FCT were concluded. Buhari amassed a total of 15,191,847 votes, winning in 19 states of the federation to defeat his closest rival and party arch-enemy, Alhaji Atiju Abubakar of the PDP, who scored 11,255,948 votes and won in 17 states.

ALSO READ:  COVID-19: Nigerian Governors Agree On 14 Days Weeks’ Inter-state Lockdown

Other candidates failed to record as much as 50,000 votes during the exercise. Popular motivational speaker, Fela Durotoye of the Alliance for New Nigeria Party recorded a paltry 16,000+ votes. Omoyele Sowore of the AAC scored in excess of 33,000 votes, while Kingsley Moghaly could only make it to 21,000 votes.

As it stands, Nigerians are now bracing up for a second term of APC government.


Leave a Comment