University of Calabar (UNICAL) Admission Process

The University of Calabar is one of Nigeria’s finest and most comprehensive universities. It was established as a federal university in the year 1975, after previously existing as a small campus under the then University of Nigeria. Also known as UNICAL, the University of Calabar is located in the city of Calabar, in Cross-river state, in Southern Nigeria. It was among the first institutions to adopt the use of online school portals to ease up students’ registration procedures and other administrative processes. It is one of the best universities in Nigeria at the moment.

University of Calabar (UNICAL) School Portal:

Admission into the University of Calabar is quite competitive. Eligible candidates must meet all stipulated criteria before they can be considered eligible to be considered for admission. As a federal university, admission is strictly on a merit basis, and also depends on the number of places available in the department to which the candidate(s) are applying. Sometimes, seemingly qualified and eligible candidates may be denied admission for various reasons; so even with all the credentials and criteria, one still needs a slice of luck to be successful.

UTME Admission Application:

Once a candidate fulfills all the requisite criteria for application (as stated by the university during the admissions intake season), he or she can proceed to apply for admission.

Payment and Registration Procedure

The following options are available:

  1. E-transact option:
    >>This option is available in all commercial banks nationwide. At the bank, the candidate is required to pay and obtain an E-transact PIN. With the PIN log into the school portal >>>
ALSO READ:  FUTA: Courses Offered, Admission, School Fees & Student Portal

>>Click on the ‘UTME Admission Screening’ link, and then strictly follow the instructions on the portal after login.

  1. Scratch Card Option:
    This option is available in the following banks within Calabar Metropolis ONLY:
    Unical Microfinance Bank
    b.    WEMA Bank
    c.    First city Monument Bank
    d.    Heritage Bank

On obtaining the scratch card proceed as follows:

  • click on the UTME Admission Screening link
  • On the home page, enter your correct JAMB Registration Number in the box provided
  • Enter the scratch card pin in the box provided
  • Click on login and follow the online instructions.
  • Confirm your entries and CLICK ON SUBMIT
  • Print out the completed form.


On the day of the post-utme screening, invited candidates must take note of the following:

  • (i)    Candidates are required to come with their original UTME result slip showing the Candidate’s photograph
  • (ii)     The Post UTME exercise is Computer Based Test (CBT).


Applications are usually invited from suitably qualified candidates for admission into graduate programmes in the school of post-graduate studies (SPGS).


Programmes leading to the award of Postgraduate Diploma, Master’s, and Ph.D degrees are available in the under-listed Departments.
For details of each programme and specific requirements, candidates are advised to visit the school of post-graduate studies website at

  1. Faculty of Agriculture:
    Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Extension and Rural Sociology, Animal Science; Crop Science; Soil Science; Forestry and Wildlife Resource Management.
  2. Faculty of Allied Medical Sciences:
    Medical Laboratory Science (Medical Microbiology/ Parasitology Unit, Chemical Pathology Unit, Histophathology Unit and Haematology Unit), Radiography and Radiological Sciences, Nursing Sciences.
  3. Faculty of Arts:
    English and Literary Studies; History and International Studies; Linguistics and Communication Studies; Religious and Cultural Studies; Philosophy; Theatre and Media Studies; Modern Languages and Translation Studies.
  4. Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences:
    Anatomy; Biochemistry; Pharmacology; Physiology.
  5. Faculty of Biological Sciences:
    Botany, Genetics & Biotechnology, Microbiology, Zoology and Environmental Biology.
  6. Faculty of Education:
    Arts Education; Business Education; Continuing Education and Development Studies; Curriculum and Teaching; Educational Administration and Planning; Educational Foundations, Guidance and Counselling; Environmental Education; Library and Information Science; Science Education; Social Science Education; Special Education.
  7. Faculty of Law:
  8. Faculty of Management Sciences:
    Accounting, Banking and Finance; Business Management; Marketing.
  9. Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry:
    Medicine and Dentistry; Community Medicine.
  10. Faculty of Physical Sciences:
    Geology; Mathematics; Statistics; Computer Science; Physics; Pure and Applied Chemistry.
  11. Faculty of Social Sciences:
    Economics; Geography and Environmental Science; Political Science; Sociology; Public Administration.
  12. Institute of Education:
    PGD Education, PGD Environmental Education
  13. Institute of Oceanography:
    Fisheries and Aquaculture; Physical Oceanography; Biological Oceanography
  14. Institute of Public Policy and Administration:
    PGD Public Administration; Policy and Administrative Studies (MPAS)
  15. Centre for Water Resources Management
ALSO READ:  British Schools in Nigeria: The Top 10

1 Comment

Leave a Comment