Federal University Ndufu Alike, Ebonyi: Courses Offered, Admission, Portal & School Fees

The Federal University Ndufu-Alike, Ikwo is one of Nigeria’s youngest public universities. It was founded in 2011 during the regime of the then president of the country, President Goodluck Jonathan, as part of the educational reforms that saw the establishment of nine new universities all over the country.

The Federal University Ndufu-Alike, Ikwo (also known as FUNAI) is located in Ebonyo state. Boasting of a world-class set-up, fully equipped laboratories and the best ICT infrastructure amongst many universities, FUNAI hopes to one day become the best University in Nigeria.

Programmes offered in Federal University Ndufu Alike, Ebonyi:

At FUNAI, up to fifty different courses leading up to the award of a wide range of Bachelor degrees can be studied. The University kicked off operations with only three faculties;, which are the Faculties of Humanities and Social Science, Science and Technology, and Basic Medical Sciences: but today, the university’s educational structure comprises of seven fully-functional faculties, which are:

Faculty of Science:

At present, the Faculty comprises four (4) academic departments with 13 programmes at the undergraduate level. These various B.Sc. programmes are structured in such a way that there are harmonious complementarities between theory and practice.

Departments include:

  1. Department of Biology/Microbiology/Biotechnology

The Department is made up of Biology, Plant Science and Ecological Studies (Botany), Animal Science and Environment studies (Zoology), Microbiology and Biotechnology.

  1. 2. Department of Chemistry/Bio-Chemistry/Molecular Biology
  2. 3. Department of Mathematics/Computer Science/Statistics/Informatics
  3. 4. Department of Physics/Geology/Geophysics


Faculty of Agriculture:

Faculty of Agriculture started with Department of Agriculture and Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture for take-off. The programs being housed under Department of Agriculture are: Agriculture Economics, Agribusiness, Animal Science, Crop Science, Horticulture, and Soil Science. Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture runs only Fisheries and Aquaculture as a program. Other programs and Departments will be introduced in due course.

ALSO READ:  Pilot (Aviation) Schools in Nigeria: The Top 5

1 Department of Agribusiness and Management

2 Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture


Faculty of Humanities:

Departments under this faculty include:

1 Department of Philosophy

2 Department of Fine And Applied Arts/Music

3 Department of History And Strategic Studies

4 Department of Language/Linguistics/Literary Studies/Theatre Arts


Faculty of Education:

The Faculty offers a variety of programmes in education based on foundations of excellent scholarship, research and practice-based learning. The inaugural four years’ programmes are as follows: B. (Ed) Mathematics Education, B.Sc. (Ed) Biology Education, BA (Ed) English and Literary Studies, B.Ed. Business Education, B.Sc. (Ed) Physical and Health Education, B.Sc. (Ed) Physics Education and B.Sc. (Ed) Chemistry Education.

1 Department of Arts and Humanities Education

2 Department of Education Foundations

3 Department of Science Education

4 Department of Vocational and Technical Education


Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences

Established to prepare ground for the establishment of a College of Medicine, the Faculty has three departments namely:

1 Department of Anatomy

2 Department of Medical Biochemistry

3 Department of Physiology


In the meantime, the three departments are offering B.Sc degree programmes in Anatomy, Medical Biochemistry and Physiology respectively.

*Admission Requirements

All candidates seeking admission into any first Degree programme in the faculty of Basic Medical Sciences should in addition to meeting the minimum cut-off point of the faculty possess at least a credit pass in English and Mathematics and in the three core courses  of the faculty, (biology, chemistry and physics) at one sitting in WAEC or NECO. The applicant must have passed English, Physics, Biology and Chemistry.


Faculty of Social and Management Sciences

  1. Department of Economics and Development Studies
  2. 2. Department of Political Science/Mass Communication
  3. 3. Department of Sociology/Psychology/Criminology and Security Studies
ALSO READ:  Business Schools in Nigeria: The Top 5

4 Department of Accountancy,Business Administration and Banking and Finance


Faculty of Engineering and Technology

1 Department of Civil Engineering

2 Department of Electrical/Electronic and Computer Engineering

3 Department of Mechanical/Mechatronics Engineering

4 Department of Chemical/Petroleum Engineering


Programmes obtainable in this faculty include:

Mechatronic Eng, B.Eng.

Mechanical Engineering, B.Eng.

Electrical/Electronic Engineering, B.Eng.

Petroleum Engineering, B.Eng.

Chemical Engineering, B.Eng.

Civil Engineering, B.Eng

Computer Engineering, B.Eng

*Food Engineering, B.Eng and Agricultural Engineering, B.Eng programmes are currently sub-zoomed into Chemical Engineering, B.Eng and Mechanical Engineering, B.Eng, programmes respectively as distinct options. At graduation, the certificates that will be awarded to graduands will be Chemical Engineering (Food Engineering Option) and Mechanical Engineering (Agricultural Engineering Option), respectively.


Federal University Ndufu Alike, Ebonyi Admission Process

Admission Requirements

The admission requirements for entry into undergraduate academic programmes are stated below:

Admission into the basic studies programme of the University is open to candidates who have five credit passes at the O’Levels

The credit passes shall include English and Mathematics.

Admission Requirement for Undergraduate Programms

Prospective students would need to satisfy the following general requirements before they are offered admission to the Federal University, Ndufu Alike Ikwo.

  1. For admission to 100 Level (UMEa), candidates must:
  2. Obtain five (5) credit passes at SSCE (or equivalent) in relevant subjects at not more than two sittings; and
  3. An acceptable score in Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) in relevant subjects.


  1. For admission to 200 level (direct entry), candidates should, in addition to five SSCE credit passes as in a (1) above, obtain at least two A’level (or its equivalent) passes in relevant subjects or possess NCE or OND with credit passes, or possess a good first degree in another field as the case may be.
ALSO READ:  Wole Soyinka's Poems: A List of Poems by Soyinka

In addition to the above general requirements, prospective students must satisfy faculty/departmental requirements.

Federal University Ndufu Alike, Ebonyi Student Portal

Portal: The school portal is the hub for all matters relating to registration, payments, and etcetera. It can be accessed by clicking on the link ‘PORTAL’ on the school website, which is at Conversely, you could go straight to


Federal University Ndufu Alike, Ebonyi School Fees:

Tuition is free. However, there are a number of administrative and ancillary charges to offset.


Fees range from #78,100 naira to #128,100 naira, depending on whether the student is making use of the school hostel or otherwise. The full breakdown of the fees is available on the school website.


Fees range from #103,600 naira to #153,600 naira, depending on whether the student is making use of the school hostel or otherwise. The full breakdown of the fees is available on the school website.


Asides this fee, all students are required to pay a faculty due of #2,000 naira.


Leave a Comment