Bayero University: Courses Offered, Admission, Portal & School Fees

Bayero University Kano is one of the premier Universities in Northern Nigeria. It was formed in 1977 when the then Bayero University College was restructured and upgraded to University status, hence forming what we now know as Bayero University Kano. Before that time, it was known as Abdullahi Bayero College, later changed to Bayero University College.

Bayero University Kano is a Public research University located in the state capital of Kano, Kano State, Nigeria. Also known as BUK, the institution is affiliated with the National Universities’ Commission (NUC), and is also an active member of the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU). BUK has a total number of thirteen fully-functional faculties on site, with an additional 8 research centres. The University is also home to Nigeria’s International Institute of Islamic Banking and Finance (IIIBF).

Courses Offered in Bayero University

Bayero University Kano confers Diploma awards, Bachelors degrees, Masters degrees and Doctorate degrees across a wide range of programs split into over twenty different faculties and research institutes. Faculties and the respective departments under them are listed below, in addition to the courses that can be studied under each Faculty.

College of Health Science:

The College of Health Science consists of four faculties; Faculty of Allied Health Sciences, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, Faculty of Dentistry, as well as the Faculty of Clinical Sciences; and each Faculty consists of a number of departments, as listed below:


Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences:

Department of Anatomy

Department of Biochemistry

Department of Physiology

Faculty of Clinical Sciences:

Department of Medicine

ALSO READ:  10 Best Secondary School in Lagos

Department of Surgery

Department of Haematology

Department of Community Medicine

Department of Radiology

Department of Chemical Pathology

Department of Anaesthesiology

Department of Clinical Pharmacology

Department of Paediatrics

Department of Ophthalmology

Department of Medical Microbiology and Parasitology

Department of Otolaryngology

Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Department of Psychiatry

Faculty of Allied Health Sciences:

Department of Nursing

Department of Optometry

Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences

Department of Physiotherapy

Department of Radiography

Faculty of Dentistry:

Department of Child Dental Health

Department of Preventive Dentistry

Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

Department of Craniofacial Orthodontics

Department of Restorative Dentistry

Department of Oral Diagnostic Surgery


Courses that can be studied in the college of Health Sciences include:

Medicine and Surgery




Nursing/Nursing Science

Medical Laboratory Science


Dentistry and Dental Surgery

Nutrition and Dietetics



Medical Radiography and Radio-logical Science

Faculty of Agriculture:

Department of Soil Science

Department of Animal Science

Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension

Department of Agronomy

Department of Crop Protection


Courses that can be studied under this faculty include:


Fisheries and Aquaculture

Forestry and Wildlife Management

Agricultural Economics and Extension

Food Science and Technology

Faculty of Education:

Department of Education

Department of Special Education

Department of Physical and Health Education

Department of Adult Education

Department of Library and Information Science

Department of Science and Technical Education


Courses that can be studied under this faculty include:

Adult Education

Technical Education

Agricultural Science and Education

Physical and Health Education

Education; in combination with any of the following: Economics, Science, Arabic, History, Islamic Studies, Hausa, Mathematics, Geography, Biology, Chemistry, English Language or French.

ALSO READ:  Ahmadu Bello University: Courses Offered, Admission, Portal & School Fees

Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences:

Department of Geology

Department of Architecture

Department of Geography

Department of Urban and Regional Planning

Department of Environmental Management

Faculty of Engineering:

Department of Civil Engineering

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering

Department of Electrical Engineering

Department of Mechatronics Engineering

Department of Agricultural Engineering


Courses that can be studied under these two faculties (Engineering and Environment) include:

Agricultural Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Civil Engineering

Computer Engineering

Petroleum Engineering

Telecommunication Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Irrigation Engineering

Mechatronics Engineering

Urban and Regional Planning

Estate Management

Quantity Surveying

Environmental Management

Faculty of Law:

Department of Public Law

Department of Islamic Law

Department of Private and Commercial law

Faculty of Science:

Department of Mathematical Science

Department of Physics

Department of Chemistry

Department of Plant Biology

Department of Biological Science

Department of Microbiology


Courses that can be studied under this faculty include:




Library and Information Science

Applied Biology

Industrial Chemistry





Computer Science



Plant Biology

Information Science and Media Studies

Biological Sciences


Faculty of Social and Management Sciences:

Department of Sociology

Department of Economics

Department of Accounting

Department of Banking and Finance

Department of Mass Communication

Department of Business Administration

Department of Political Science

Courses that can be studied under this faculty include:





International Relations

Public Administration

Banking and Finance

Mass Communication

Political Science




Faculty of Computer Science and Information Technology:

Department of Software Engineering

Department of Computer Science

ALSO READ:  Shocking News! A dead OAU lecturer body found in his office

Department of Information Technology


Faculty of Arts and Islamic Studies:

Department of Theater and Film Studies

Department of English

Department of History

Department of Linguistics

Department of Arabic

Department of Nigerian Languages

Department of Foreign Languages

Department of Islamic Studies and Shari’a


Bayero University Admissions and Portal:

We can see that this University is a very comprehensive institution: and like every other University in Nigeria. Admission is fairly competitive. Candidates who pass their respective UTME/DE examinations and who choose the school as either of ‘First Choice Institution’ or ‘Second Choice Institution’ are normally notified and invited to visit the school portal ( to click on the appropriate link to link the candidate to the desired page on the portal. All registration and authentication processes are online.

The portal serves both undergraduate and post-graduate students alike; though a page entirely dedicated to each can be opened by clicking the appropriate link on the school portal.


Bayero University Tuition Fees:

Tuition fees for Nigerians in BUK is between the range of #26,000 naira and #37,000 naira (for satellites), while freshers pay within the range of #29,000 naira to #40,000 naira, depending on the department and faculty which the student is enrolled in. Foreigners are also admitted into the institution, but have a special tuition fee of between #200,000 naira and #600,000 naira per session; all depending on the department which they are enrolled in.

Leave a Comment